Ten authors will be featured on this post.


In no particular order…

Norton Juster (1929) gave us The Phantom Tollbooth in 1961.

Maurice Sendak (1928-2012) gave us Kenny’s Window in 1956 before telling us Where the Wild Things Are in 1963.

L. Frank Baum (1856-1919) took us somewhere over the rainbow with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz in 1900. There are 17 books in Oz series; two published posthumously. An 18th book was not written by him.

Nick Bruel (1978) wrote Boing! in 2004.

Rosemary Wells (1943) began her career with Unfortunately Harriet in 1972. She has also given us Max & Ruby and Yoko.

Avi (1937) tells us about Things that Sometimes Happen in 1970.

Eric Carle (1929) gave us his unique illustrating style and his own text in 1, 2, 3 to the Zoo in 1968.

E.B. White (1899-1985) tells us about a brave mouse in Stuart Little in 1945. Made into live-action movie in 1999, Stuart was voiced by Michael J. Fox.

Dan Gutman (1955) gave us The Kid Who Ran for President in 1996.

And lastly…

Washington Irving (1783-1859) scared us with The Legend of Sleepy Hollow in 1820 as part of The Sketchbook of Geoffrey Crayon, Gent.