Thomas Rockwell (1933) wrote How to Eat Fried Worms in 1973. Rockwell is the son of famous American painter Norman Rockwell. The book made it the big screen in 2006 starring Luke Benward. An animated version aired on CBS Storybreak in 1985.

**As of right now (6/2/17) I am trying to confirm Rockwell’s place of birth. Famous Birthdays says Vermont and other sources say New York and he grew up in Vermont. Consequently, I have not found another native-born author from Vermont.



Shanaya Fastje (1999) published her first book, Mystery School, in 2009 at the age of just 10 years old! She has published four other books and is currently working on her 6th, a paranormal/fantasy novel.

Shanaya FastjeĀ 

Rick Riodan (1964) began his wildly popular book series with The Lightning Thief in 2005. Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief hit the big screen starring Logan Lerman. A second film, Percy Jackson & The Sea of Monsters came out in 2013.

Rick Riodan

I thoroughly enjoyed the first five book Percy Jackson series. It was something new and different. I felt the pace and the intrigue as well as the plot twists held my attention. The movies… eh. While entertaining I just felt that too many changes happened. My daughter will tell you that I totally ruined the evening for her as I kept whispering in her ear all the discrepancies and mistakes. And I normally cannot stand a person doing that (I never see a movie featuring the Navy with my husband or father-in-law). I also enjoyed Greek Gods. I have not started the second series or the Magnus Chase (Norse mythology) series.


Louise Fitzhugh (1928-1974) wrote Harriet the Spy in 1964. The books have last the test of time and made a big screen debut in 1996 starring Michelle Trachtenberg. Harriet got a Disney make-over and modern update in Harriet the Spy: Blog Wars in 2010 starring Jennifer Stone.

Louise Fitzhugh at Random House Kids

Daniel Pinkwater (1941) published The Terrible Roar in 1970. (No picture or prints available.) Pinkwater’s classic The Big Orange Splot was published in 1977.

Daniel Manus Pinkwater on Scholastic

One of my favorite memories of Toddler Time at the local library was The Big Orange Splot Day. I will have to find pictures to share on here and embarrass my children.




Rose Wilder Lane (1886-1986) originally published Young Pioneers in 1933 serially as Let the Hurricane Roar in the Saturday Evening Post. The book is based on the childhood of her mother, Laura Ingalls Wilder. Originally the characters were named Charles and Caroline (Laura’s parents) but were changed to Molly and David when it was reissued in 1976. Like her mother’s books, Young Pioneers was seen on television in a three-part series in 1978.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Home & Museum



Peggy Parish (1927-1988) first published Littlest Raccoon in 1961. Lovable Amelia Bedelia made her first appearance in 1963.

Welcome to the World of Amelia Bedelia



Parish’s nephew, Herman Parish, is continuing the series of the literal-minded housekeeper.


John Rocco (1967) wrote and illustrated Wolf! Wolf! in 2007. He is also the illustrator of Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods (2014) and Greek Heroes (2015).

Rocco Art