CeCe Bell (1970) wrote El Deafo in 2014.

CeCe Bell

Jenny Han (1980) wrote Shug in 2007.

Jenny Han

Bruce Brooks (1950) wrote The Moves Make the Man in 1984.

Bruce Brooks at Harper Collins



Meg Cabot (1967) began the Allie Finkle’s Rule for Girls series with Moving Day in 2007. She is also the author of The Princess Diaries young adult series and Avalon High, both given the Disney treatment.


Ben Hatke (1979) created the character Zita the Spacegirl and her graphic novel series in 2011. He currently lives in Virginia.


When I was long-term subbing as the library para I kept seeing these brightly colored graphic novels. I had to read them for them for myself! They did not disappoint! A very original and imaginative story line. Great strong female character too!